La Chatte Gitane (or The Gypsy Cat) was the name we chose for our cottage in France. We chose it while on the road, moving home, from Ireland to France with 2 dogs and 7 cats in the car.
This blog began its insignificant life as a recipe book for friends and family who would ask me repeatedly for a recipe of this, that and the other.
Since then it has taken many different directions, like gypsies tend to do. Sometimes making a U-turn and revisiting familiar roads and taking a break when necessary.
You'll find recipes here, but also musings about the places we've called home, the gardens that we've established, not always successfully, the homes we've improved and the environments we've lived in. Currently, that is back in Ireland.

Volunteers

Before anything else is said, we will only reply to emails from people who have a HelpX membership.
HelpX website
Our Profile

Perpetual house and country movers, we have hopefully now found our forever home! Back in Sneem since April 2013, after 9 years away.
We are a Belgian couple, and we have lost our heart to Ireland where we've lived before. Went back to Belgium for a while, but not before residing in France for 4.5 yrs.
We've been WWOOF and HelpX hosts for about 10 years in total and are happy to pick up where we left off.
So what is the plan?
We bought a house and some land right beside the Sneem estuary, obviously surrounded by stunning landscapes and seaviews. The land is rough and a large part can stay just that. But we also do like to refine some of it into gardens (cottage garden, vegetables, orchard and woodland. We've made a start with some projects like a walkway to get to the dingy, but the place needs more....
In the meantime we've acquired chickens and pigs. A small farm has been born.
We could do with motivated HelpX-ers to get us settled into the landscape again. There might be some hard graft ahead, but there'll be a comfy room and good food in return and some play time.

Other jobs include weeding, clearing river banks, sowing, planting, prepping soil, strimming grass, help in the daily chores. The work will be in correlation to your physical abilities.
About 5 hr/day - 5 days/week. This can vary according to weather, some days you'll have to work longer, other days not as long.

Bed linen and towels are provided.
There is free Wifi, but bring your own computer device/laptop/notebook/smartphone.
We have bicycles for you to use and we live about 1.5 km from the village.

Are you up to it ?

You don't mind a house filled with 2 middle aged (that's just over 50, mind you) but young hearted people, 2 dogs and 3 cats ?
You can commit for 2 weeks minimum ?
Please contact us via email and state your date of possible arrival AND departure. This is necessary for our planning. So don't be vague in your email.
We can pick you up in Killarney(if you stay a minimum of 4 weeks), Kenmare or Sneem village.

IMPORTANT : Your English MUST be of a decent level. It makes for more pleasant conversations and it will be easier for you to understand about the jobs that need doing. It will prevent us from losing our cool from time to time. This is after all NOT a language school.

Omnivores and vegetarians welcome, fussy eaters not so much.

Some of our most recent volunteers.
Wen (Malaysia), Manon (Netherlands), Anna (Germany), Hugo and Clémence (France), Albert and Dario (Spain), Franzi and Silvio (Germany), Pat (Canada), Madlen and Marie (Germany), Fran (Spain), Albaro (Spain) not in picture.
Related Posts


No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...